Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
2012-03-28-01 (Superseded by Order 2019-05-28-01)

The Supreme Court of South Carolina

Re:  County Court Security Committees


This Order supersedes the Order of the Chief Justice dated August 4, 2006.

Pursuant to the provisions of S. C. CONST. Art. V, § 4,

IT IS ORDERED THAT each county shall establish a standing Court Security Committee to address courthouse security concerns.  Each county committee will be co-chaired by a Judge (appointed by the Chief Justice), Sheriff and the County Clerk of Court.  The committee members shall include at a minimum the Chief Magistrate, a Chief of Police, Solicitor, Public Defender and Emergency Preparedness Manager. 

The previous orders provided that each Court Security Committee was responsible for performing a security audit of each building where court is held.  A comprehensive checklist was provided to each committee to perform the assessment.  Each committee was also responsible for developing a local security plan by October 30, 2006, for every facility where court is held utilizing the Standard Operating Procedures as a guideline.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that each Court Security Committee with assistance of the Security Manager shall review the established local court security plan to ensure compliance and to identify security needs.  Each committee shall complete this process and notify the State Court Administrator no later than June 15, 2012 of the status of the local security plan and review.

The following judges shall co-chair the respective county security committee:

The First Judicial Circuit:
Calhoun The Hon. Edgar W. Dickson
Dorchester The Hon. Diane Schafer Goodstein
Orangeburg The Hon. Anne Gue Jones
The Second Judicial Circuit:
Aiken The Hon. Vicki J. Snelgrove
Bamberg The Hon. Doyet A. Early, III
Barnwell The Hon. Dale Moore Gable
The Third Judicial Circuit:
Clarendon The Hon. R. Ferrell Cothran, Jr.
Lee The Hon. George M. McFaddin, Jr.
Sumter The Hon. William Jeffrey Young
Williamsburg The Hon. Clifton Newman

The Fourth Judicial Circuit:

Chesterfield The Hon. Roger E. Henderson
Darlington The Hon. J. Michael Baxley
Dillon The Hon. Salley Huggins McIntyre
Marlboro The Hon. Paul M. Burch
The Fifth Judicial Circuit:
Kershaw The Hon. Dana A. Morris
Richland The Hon. James R. Barber, III
The Sixth Judicial Circuit:
Chester The Hon. Brian M. Gibbons
Fairfield The Hon. W. Thomas Sprott, Jr.
Lancaster The Hon. Brooks P. Goldsmith
The Seventh Judicial Circuit:
Cherokee The Hon. Usha J. Bridges
Spartanburg The Hon. J. Derham Cole
The Eighth Judicial Circuit:
Abbeville The Hon. Frank R. Addy, Jr.
Greenwood The Hon. Frank R. Addy, Jr.
Laurens The Hon. Joseph W. McGowan, III
Newberry The Hon. John M. Rucker
The Ninth Judicial Circuit:
Berkeley The Hon. R. Markely Dennis, Jr.
Charleston  The Hon. Deadra L. Jefferson
The Tenth Judicial Circuit:
Anderson The Hon. Tommy B. Edwards
Oconee The Hon. Alexander S. Macaulay
The Eleventh Judicial Circuit:
Edgefield The Hon. William P. Keesley
Lexington The Hon. R. Knox McMahon
McCormick The Hon. William P. Keesley
Saluda The Hon. Deborah Neese
The Twelfth Judicial Circuit:
Florence The Hon. Arthur E. Morehead, III
Marion The Hon. Timothy H. Pogue
The Thirteenth Judicial Circuit:
Greenville The Hon. Edward W. Miller
Pickens The Hon. G. Edward Welmaker
The Fourteenth Judicial Circuit:
Allendale The Hon. Perry M. Buckner
Beaufort The Hon. Carmen T. Mullen
Colleton The Hon. Perry M. Buckner
Hampton The Hon. Gerald C. Smoak, Jr.
Jasper The Hon. Deborah A. Malphrus

The Fifteenth Judicial Circuit:

Georgetown The Hon. Benjamin H. Culbertson
Horry The Hon. Lisa A. Kinon
The Sixteenth Judicial Circuit:
Union The Hon. Robert E. Guess
York The Hon. John C. Hayes, III

The State Court Administrator in coordination with the State Law Enforcement Division shall provide additional guidance to facilitate the process.


s/Jean Hoefer Toal                                   
Jean Hoefer Toal
Chief Justice

Columbia, S.C.
March 28, 2012