Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
Court News ...

County Court Security Designated Committee Co-Chairs

The issue of court security is taken seriously in South Carolina. During the fall of 2005, all 46 counties were surveyed concerning their local courthouse security. Because different counties have different needs, each county will have a County Court Security Committee to plan and adopt security measures tailored to its needs.

The County Court Security Committee is co-chaired by the Sheriff, the Clerk of Court and either a Circuit or Family Court Judge. The following judges will serve as co-chair of their county's Court Security Committee:

1 First Judicial Circuit
9 Ninth Judicial Circuit
Calhoun James C. Williams, Jr.   Berkeley R. Markely Dennis, Jr.
Dorchester Diane Schafer Goodstein   Charleston Deadra L. Jefferson
Orangeburg Anne Gue Jones      
10 Tenth Judicial Circuit
2 Second Judicial Circuit
  Anderson J.C. Nicholson, Jr.
Aiken Doyet A. Early, III   Oconee Alexander S. Macaulay
Bamberg Doyet A. Early, III  
Barnwell Dale Moore Gable  
11 Eleventh Judicial Circuit
      Edgefield William P. Keesley
3 Third Judicial Circuit
  Lexington R. Knox McMahon
Clarendon Ferrell Cothran, Jr.   McCormick William P. Keesley
Lee George M. McFaddin, Jr.   Saluda C. David Sawyer, Jr.
Sumter William Jeffrey Young      
Williamsburg Clifton Newman  
12 Twelfth Judicial Circuit
      Florence Arthur E. Morehead, III
4 Fourth Judicial Circuit
  Marion Mary E. Buchan
Chesterfield Roger E. Henderson  
Darlington J. Michael Baxley  
13 Thirteenth Judicial Circuit
Dillon James E. Lockemy   Greenville Edward W. Miller
Marlboro Edward B. Cottingham   Pickens G. Edward Welmaker
5 Fifth Judicial Circuit
14 Fourteenth Judicial Circuit
Kershaw J. Ernest Kinard, Jr.   Allendale Perry M. Buckner
Richland G. Thomas Cooper, Jr.   Beaufort Jane D. Fender
      Colleton Perry M. Buckner
6 Sixth Judicial Circuit
  Hampton Gerald C. Smoak, Jr.
Chester Brian M. Gibbons   Jasper Robert S. Armstrong
Fairfield Kenneth G. Goode  
Lancaster Brooks P. Goldsmith  
15 Fifteenth Judicial Circuit
      Georgetown Paula H. Thomas
7 Seventh Judicial Circuit
  Horry John Breeden, Jr.
Cherokee Wesley L. Brown  
Spartanburg J. Derham Cole  
16 Sixteenth Judicial Circuit
      Union Robert E. Guess
8 Eighth Judicial Circuit
  York John C. Hayes, III
Abbeville Joseph W. McGowan, III      
Greenwood Billy A. Tunstall, Jr.      
Laurens James W. Johnson, Jr.      
Newberry John M. Rucker