Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
Court News ...

Chief Justice Beatty Administers Oath of Office to Solicitors

Supreme Court of South Carolina Chief Justice Donald W. Beatty held a swearing-in ceremony for six South Carolina solicitors on Thursday, Jan. 10.

Solicitors participating in the ceremony were newly elected Fifth Circuit Solicitor Byron Gipson and five recently re-elected solicitors: Twelfth Circuit Solicitor E.L. (Ed) Clements III, Third Circuit Solicitor Ernest A. “Chip” Finney III, Sixth Circuit Solicitor Randy E. Newman, Jr., Fifteenth Circuit Solicitor Jimmy A. Richardson II, and Thirteenth Circuit Solicitor W. Walter Wilkins, III.

The solicitors promised to preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of South Carolina and the Constitution of the United States.

In South Carolina, a solicitor is the elected official responsible for prosecuting criminal cases in one of the state’s 16 judicial circuits.