Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
Court News ...

The Supreme Court of South Carolina

Re: Expansion of Electronic Filing Pilot Program - Court of Common Pleas

Appellate Case No. 2015-002439


Pursuant to the provisions of Article V, Section 4 of the South Carolina Constitution,

IT IS ORDERED that the Pilot Program for the Electronic Filing (E-Filing) of documents in the Court of Common Pleas, which was established by Order dated December 1, 2015, is expanded to include Charleston County.  Effective October 21, 2019, 1 all filings in all common pleas cases commenced or pending in Charleston County must be E-Filed if the party is represented by an attorney, unless the type of case or the type of filing is excluded from the Pilot Program.  The counties currently designated for mandatory E-Filing are as follows:  

Abbeville Aiken Allendale Anderson
Bamberg Barnwell Beaufort Berkeley
Calhoun Cherokee Chester Chesterfield
Clarendon Colleton Darlington Dillon
Dorchester Edgefield Fairfield Florence 
Georgetown Greenville Greenwood  Hampton
Horry Jasper Kershaw  Lancaster
Laurens Lee Lexington  Marion
Marlboro  McCormick  Newberry Oconee
Orangeburg Pickens Richland Saluda
Spartanburg Sumter Union Williamsburg
York Charleston - Effective Monday, October 21, 2019

Attorneys should refer to the South Carolina Electronic Filing Policies and Guidelines, which were adopted by the Supreme Court on October 28, 2015, and the training materials available on the E-Filing Portal page at to determine whether any specific filings are exempted from the requirement that they be E-Filed.  Attorneys who have cases pending in Pilot Counties are strongly encouraged to review, and to instruct their staff to review, the training materials available on the E-Filing Portal page.


s/Donald W. Beatty                     
Donald W. Beatty
Chief Justice of South Carolina

Columbia, South Carolina
September 30, 2019

1 Pursuant to an August 28, 2019 Order, E-Filing was originally scheduled to begin in Charleston on September 18, 2019.  However, after a mandatory evacuation and the closure of county offices in Charleston County based on Hurricane Dorian, the August 28th Order was rescinded on September 9, 2019.